Escape to Siesta Key – Special Guest Post (Part 1 of 2)

Allow me to introduce myself. My name is Dan and I’m very excited to be able to contribute to this blog. I’m in my mid-twenties and work in digital advertising near Toronto, Canada (eh) after years of other jobs, seemingly endless schooling, and a long, long time without going on a vacation. For the first time in decades — okay, maybe it just felt like decades — I was off on holiday!

rainy-dayOf course, one of the best parts about going away – escaping every day life. The monotony, the chores, the grind. And the cold. That $%^*@#^ cold. I hate it. HATE it!! I am a summer person through and through. I love baseball, golf, tennis, and being warm. Winter, even impending winter, has me counting down all over again until the weather will turn nice. This time – the best part was that my countdown was not going to be in months, or weeks, or even days. It was hours.

Now that I was working full-time and had the freedom that comes with earning my own muh-nee (visualize Kevin O’Leary of Dragon’s Den and Shark Tank saying “money” and that’s what it sounds like), I was going to take advantage. I booked the last week of October down at Siesta Key 611 and knew it was going to be a great trip. It started out cold and wet, with icy rain. The walk from the car to the airport terminal seemed like an eternity. But only a short while later it was all gone. We were off, flying through the air to Tampa, and then driving down the gorgeous Florida coastline before arriving in Siesta Key.

After collecting the keys to the condo, just a few steps from the parking lot, we were presented with this view:

IMG_00000213

It was stunning. The color, the water, the warmth. It’s just a picture, but even looking at it makes me feel like I’m in a tropical climate. Warm and beautiful or cold, grey & depressing. Hard decision …NOT!

IMG_00000128To me, this was paradise. The condo complex, as shown above, was serene. After taking a moment to unload the suitcases, we took advantage of the delightfully quick walk on America’s #1 beach. I can’t use words to describe how amazing it was, so I’ll let the pictures do the talking. One of the great benefits of going this time of year too was how it was like we had the beach to ourselves. Incredible. I could lounge to my heart’s content (and did I ever) and not be a bother to anyone – nor be bothered by anyone. A short while later, the sun was on its way down. Siesta Key is renowned for its sunsets to the point that it borders on cliché. I’ve seen dozens myself in trips over the years. But this one was different. Whether it was the fact that it had been years since I’d seen one, that it was coming on the heels of days back home that were miserable and gray, or whatever it was, I enjoyed every second of it. And as clichéd as it may be, it is that damn good.

IMG_00000157

So there I was. I feel so corny saying that it was like paradise, but there isn’t a better word for it.

I won’t spend much time talking about the condo because there’s no need – it has all the amenities you need to feel relax & taken care of…and quite frankly, they are well listed and described on the website. But one thing not advertised here, or on the Siesta Key 611 website, is my favourite amenity. It is a gateway to paradise. And that to me was the best part of all of spending a week here.

Coming Next Week: Part II. The Food. The Entertainment. The Good Stuff. And All The Answers to Life, The Universe & Everything. Same Bat Time, Same Bat Channel!

Leave a Reply

